MSA Mark Twain Award Winner - 2012
Fidelity Lodge #113 F&AM

Our next regular communication is
Fidelity Lodge supports our troops

New Jersey

From a History of Freemasonry in New Jersey 1787-1987
Go to our home page
View our calendar of events
Get directions to our lodge
Read about the History of Fidelity Lodge
Links of interest
Learn about Masonic History
Membership info
Lodge News
Our officers and living Past Masters
Pay Dues Online
Details of Special Lodge Events
Bookmark and Share

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

American/NJ History:
  • Leon Abbett - NJ Governor 1884-87
  • John Beatty - Revolutionary Patriot - Delegate to Continental Congress
  • Joseph D. Bedle - NJ Governor 1875-78
  • Jonathan Belcher
    • "The First Native Born American to be Made a Mason"
    • Governor of the Colony of New Jersey 1747-57
    • Founder of the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University)
    • Author of first Thanksgiving Proclamation, issued while NJ Governor
  • David Brearley, Jr. - Revolutionary Patriot - The first person selected to be a delegate to the First Constitutional Convention - a signer of the US Constitution - First RW Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of New Jersey
  • Jonathan Dayton - signer of US Constitution
  • Mahlon Dickerson - NJ Governor 1815-17
  • Philemon Dickerson - NJ Governor 1836-37
  • Walter Evans Edge - NJ Governor 1917-19 and 1944-47
  • Edward I. Edwards - NJ Governor 1920-23
  • Jonathan Elmer - Delegate to the Continental Congress
  • John Franklin Fort - NJ Governor 1908-11
  • Robert Stockton Green - NJ Governor 1887-90
  • Garrett Augustus Hobart - 24th Vice President of the United States
  • Harold Hoffmann - NJ Governor 1935-38
  • Morgan Foster Larson - NJ Governor 1929-32
  • James Linn - US Congressman 1799-1801 - In 1800, after thirty-five ballots, he cast the tie-breaking vote in the US House of Representatives, electing Thomas Jefferson as 3rd President of the United States (over Aaron Burr)
  • George Craig Ludlow - NJ Governor 1881-84
  • George McClellan - NJ Governor 1878-81 - General-in-Chief, Union Army of the Potomac, 1861-62
  • Arthur Harry Moore - NJ Governor 1926-29, 1932-35, 1938-41
  • William Augustus Newell - NJ Governor 1857-60
  • Aaron Ogden - Revolutionary Patriot - Captain 1st New Jersey Regt, Continental Line 1779 - NJ Governor 1812-13
  • Joel Parker - NJ Governor 1863-66
  • William Paterson - Revolutionary Patriot - Delegate to the Continental Congress - Signer of the US Constitution - NJ Governor 1790-92
  • Rodman McCamley Price - NJ Governor 1854-57
  • John Rathbone Ramsey - US Congressman 1917-21 - Member of Fidelity Lodge #113
  • Theodore Fitz Randolph - NJ Governor 1869-72
  • George Sebastian Silzer - NJ Governor 1923-26
  • Richard Stockton - Revolutionary Patriot - Delegate to the First and Second Continental Congress - Signer of Declaration of Independence - Died of privation as a result of his patriotic actions
  • George Theodore Werts - NJ Governor 1893-96
  • James Madison Drake - Congressional Medal of Honor awarded for "gallantry and bravery commanding the skirmish line and holding position" at Bermuda Hundred, Virginia on May 6, 1864
  • James Giles - Revolutionary Patriot - Lieutenant, 2nd New York Artillery Regiment, Continental Line, Revolutionary War. Served with distinction under General LaFayette.
  • Henry Kent Hewitt - Vice Admiral, US Navy, World War II, Commander of Western Naval Task Force, Mediterranean Fleet, North Africa Campaign - Commander of the US Eighth Fleet, Invasion of France, D-Day
  • Benjamin Kaufman - Congressional Medal of Honor awarded in 1919 for "conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity" against the enemy. Wounded while single handedly attacking a machine gun position, he continued to attack, scattering the crew and destroying the position, after which he brought the machine gun and a prisoner back to the allied lines - Argonne Forest, France
  • Carl Emil Petersen - Chief Machinist, US Navy, Boxer Rebellion - Congressional Medal of Honor awarded July 19, 1901 for "meritorious conduct in the presence of the enemy" during the action at Beijing, China - June 28 - Aug 17, 1900
  • Anthony Walton White - Revolutionary Patriot - Aide-de-camp to General George Washington, Commander of all Cavalry, Southern Army, February 16, 1780, Commander of all Calvary, Western Pennsylvania Insurrection ("Whiskey Rebellion") 1794
  • Robert Aitken - Captain US Soccer Team - 1928 Olympics
  • John Albert (Becky) Beckman - Basketball Hall of Fame - Captain and Forward: New York Original Celtics
  • Russell Aubrey (Lena) Blackburne - Major League Baseball Player - Originator in 1938 of Blackburne's "Delaware River Baseball Mud" still used to prepare balls for play in the Major Leagues
  • Bernard (Benny) Borgmann, Sr - Professional Basketball Player - Basketball Hall of Fame
  • Roger (Doc) Cramer - Major League Baseball Player - .296 lifetime average - one of two players to go 6-for-6 twice in career
  • Maxwell Washburn (Maxey) Long - Winner of the 400 meter run in the 1900 Olympic Games in Paris, France
  • Frank Emil Arthur (Frankie) Schneider, Jr. - Champion Modified Stock Car Driver - member of the National Auto Racing Hall of Fame
  • Philip Embury Margerum Thompson - Manager of the Atlantic City Convention Hall, Organizer of the Eastern Ice Hockey League and Amateur Ice Hockey Association - Enshrined in Ice Hockey Hall of Fame
  • Buzz Aldrin Jr. - Astronaut - 2nd man to walk on moon
  • James Edward Blackmore - Inventor of the first moving picture machine camera - 1892
  • Simon Lake - Naval Architect - Inventor of even keel-type submarine torpedo boats. Builder of the first submarine to operate successfully in the open sea. Inventor of apparatus for locating and recovering sunken vessels.
  • John Martin Thomas - Educator - President of four separate colleges from 1908-1944: (Middlebury (Vt.) College, Pennsylvania State College, Rutgers University, Norwich (Vt.) University), unique in the annals of American Education
  • Danny Thomas (Amos Jacobs) - Philanthropist, Humanitarian, Star of stage, screen and television - Recipient of the Congressional Gold Medal of Honor
  • Allen Lee Bassett - founder and first President of The Prudential Insurance Company
Find us on FacebookCheck out the Fidelity Lodge page on Facebook.

© - Fidelity Lodge #113 F&AM
All Rights Reserved

Refer all questions/comments to the